Billion

I began the slow process of cleaning my other blog.

It’s like a different life, really.  I wasn’t expecting that.  Going back and reading some of the things I wrote, even one year ago, is like seeing pictures of total strangers, and thinking that you must know each and every person.  My thoughts have changed so much in a year. 

The thing about blogging, to me, is that whatever is said, whatever is written, must be of some importance.  The current number of blogs on the Internet is around 70 million.  True, people like me may have more than one blog, but 70 million blogs at least indicates that there are 70 million published opinions about something.  And with each of those blogs having numerous posts, the amount of published opinions could easily number in the billions.  So I am left questioning if anything I say or write is of any relative importance. 

I don’t think I want it to be important, for starters.  I am not trying to achieve some status with a blog.  I don’t know if what I write encourages people or not.  I do know that what I have written has angered some people, but again, that was never my attempt.  Do these words make people laugh?  Maybe.  At times.  Maybe they are supposed to.  But I don’t want to be so presumptuous to think that what I write could make any real significant difference.  It has occurred to me that people may want to know my opinions, but really, in an opinion-diluted world, what are those opinions worth?

These opinions probably have little value.  They do to me, at times.  Originally, I was going to move the other blog straight over, as is, including every single post.  But re-reading some of those posts just startled me.  I am not the same person that wrote some of those things, and I’m not sure if some of those posts have much of a place anymore.  I am not ashamed of what I have written, but some of those things were just written in a different time and for different purposes.  So some of them will not follow here.

And I am left wondering what is left in a world full of words.  As time passes, even this entry will no longer be relevant to me, and eventually, it will be deleted as well. 

In the meantime, I hope what I write interests you, at least.   I think I have more to say.  I think I do.

One thought on “Billion

Leave a Reply

